About Us

Southeastern Province Silhouette History

The Southeastern Province include the states of Georgia and South Carolina.  The Silhouettes have been an active group of ladies mutually enjoying social activities together for years.


In the early years of the organization, Ms. Olivia Johnson of Columbia, South Carolina served as the liaison between the Southeastern Province chapters and the National.  In 1980 at the Province meeting held in August, Georgia, Margie Evans was elected Coordinator.  This business session was attended by Silhouettes from both states.  A slate of officers was presented and approved by majority vote. 


Some Silhouettes who were involved in the National before and during its organizational years were Oliva Johnson, Dorothea Kitchen, Eva P. Lee, Beatrice DeLoach, Myrtle Jones and Valerie Lockett.  In 1958, the Spartanburg, S.C. Chapter sent a song to be considered for adoption.  In December 1965, the lyrics written by Elizabeth Hill of Atlanta were accepted as the lyrics to be used in the Silhouette Hymn.  Silhouette Earnestine Banks of Atlanta, Georgia, designed the Official Silhouette Emblem.


The Southeastern Province is proud to have elected to national office the following Silhouettes:  

Silhouette Valerie Lockett: Historian 1949

Silhouette Mary Carolyn Menchan: Historian 1979

Silhouette Mary Carolyn Menchan: President  1983              

Silhouette Rosa Stanback: Historian/Journalist 1983

Silhouette Velma Moultrie: Treasurer/Past Chaplain 1985            

Silhouette Imogene Conyers: Assistant Sergeant-at-Arms 2009, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015

Silhouette Janice Hall Dean: 1st Vice-President

Silhouette Andria S. Daniels: 1st Vice-President 2017, 2018

Silhouette Janice Hall Dean: National President 2017, 2018